+31 10 522 26 12
Nederlandse versie

European design

A European design is valid in the twenty-seven countries of the European Union, presently consisting of:

Austria, Baltic States (Estonia, Lithuania and Latvia), Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and United Kingdom.

It is expected that in the middle long term the folowing countries will join the European Union and therefore the design laws: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Iceland.

A European design is also called an RCD. This is the abrreviation of Registered Community Design.

It is not possible to file or maintain a European design for just a few countries in the European Union: it is valid in all countries or none.

A European design is a favourable protection tool. This is because costs are low, the registration procedure fast and the right can be invoked in the entire Europea Union.

If you acquire a certificate of registration it does not guarantee you that you have acquired design rights. This is because during the design registration procedure no examination is conducted. It could thus happen that your design does not meet the legal requirements and that your certificate of design registration does not establish any rights.

We have a 1 page short description of the European design registration procedure. Would you like to receive it? Then click here.